Hutchinson, Kansas Medical Malpractice Attorneys: Are Health Care Providers Required To Carry Medical Malpractice Insurance?

In our time specializing in medical malpractice cases in Hutchinson and across the state of Kansas, we encountered victims who resist filing a lawsuit. One reason someone might do this is the thought that suing an individual provider might be financially devastating for them, especially in a small town.

In spite of what you might think, since all healthcare providers in the state of Kansas are required to carry medical malpractice insurance, you should absolutely file a malpractice suit if your case merits one. According to Ryan A. Prochaska, medical malpractice attorney at PHP, there are actually two layers of insurance protection:

  1. Health care providers must purchase professional liability insurance from commercial companies or the Health Care Provider Insurance Availability Plan
    Minimum coverage limits of $200,000 per claim
    Annual aggregate total limit of $600,000 coverage
  2. Health care providers must also select one of three options for additional coverage through the Kansas Health Care Stabilization Fund (HCSF)
    $100,000 per claim with $300,000 annual aggregate
    $300,000 per claim with $900,000 annual aggregate
    $800,000 per claim with $2.4 million annual aggregate

While a medical malpractice suit could have a negative impact on a healthcare provider, there’s a reason they’re required to carry medical malpractice insurance. If a medical mistake occurs, victims and their families have the right to seek compensation.

Contact Our Hutchinson Medical Malpractice Attorneys Today

If you believe you or a loved one has been the victim of medical malpractice in Hutchinson or across the state of Kansas, set up a consultation with the medical malpractice attorneys at PHP Law Firm. We’ll meet with you to discuss the details of your case. If we determine that we can pursue legal action, our dedicated staff will work tirelessly to present the best possible. Plus, if we pursue your case, we won’t charge you unless we win you compensation.

View All Articles

Related Articles

We Want to Help

Our highly qualified and compassionate team is available to listen and evaluate your case. We do not charge any fees unless we win. Call us at (800) 266-0036 to get started!

Contact Us